Virus Outbreak Colorado
Signs hang on the doors of a Regional Transportation District bus to note the new rules to protect against the coronavirus pandemic with fares now temporarily suspended Saturday, April 25, 2020, in downtown Denver.

(The Center Square) – As Colorado begins its transition from a stay-at-home order to a safer-at-home order, counties are taking different approaches to reopening.

Some of the state’s most populated counties have extended their stay-at-home orders, while others have aligned with the new safer-at-home order.

The state’s stay-at-home order expired on Sunday and has been replaced with what Gov. Jared Polis calls the safer-at-home order.

Polis’ order allows for counties to adopt the safer-at-home guidelines, extend the stay-at-home orders, or apply with the state for early rollback of guidelines.

The city and county of Denver extended its stay-at-home order through May 8, Mayor Michael B. Hancock announced on Friday.

“With the state’s guidance, and by taking extra time to be thoughtful and deliberate, we want to ensure that we will have adequate contact tracing and testing capability, and the time to provide the guidance that our residents and business community need to re-open safely,” Hancock said.

Denver is joined by BoulderBroomfieldAdams, Arapahoe, Jefferson, and Gilpin Counties in extending their stay-at-home orders until May 8.

To continue reading this story, please click (HERE):